Rules and Obligations

My children’s lives should be full of fun, spontaneous moments, mud, dirt and laughter.

Colin’s world is ruled by rules and obligations.

Tonight he had to spin around 6 times and then “bump into Mommy” before he could enter his bathroom to take a bath and get ready for bed. He refused to eat lunch…he refused to eat breakfast. His reason? The food felt funny on his tongue.

But, he devoured the nachos his sister made and managed two hours in the pool this afternoon as long as everyone was doing what he wanted them to do.

I’m exhausted already and he’s only five.

I worry that he’ll shrivel up into a little old man from malnutrition.  I’m afraid that all the big kids at school next year will think he’s wierd.  I cry when I think about soccer practice and Colin’s inability to play with other kids on a team eve though he’s great at heading the ball and kicks the hell out of it too!!

This week it’s all about how his fingers smell.  He’ll touch something, smell his hands and then let me know if said object is worth paying attention to.

I need vacation. 

Colin needs a Mommy who’ll understand.

I’m trying.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beinganddoing
    Jun 27, 2009 @ 15:44:31

    A poignant meaningful insight into both Colin’s and your own life.

    Peace.

    Leon

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 14:39:32

    Thanks for continuing to blog about this Audrey. I find myself trying to be patient and understand my own kids as they struggle along the way. The good news is, so far, they are quite forgiving of me!

    Reply

  3. Carolyn Mellinger
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 18:25:49

    Um, some of that sounds like Ian. The supersensitivity to the ways things feel, smell, taste, etc.
    Sometimes we think he is just spoiled and gets away with making all the rules, having things around him, as he wants them. Directing everyone else to his specifications. We are working at that. I think often of Solomon. He asked for Wisdom. That’s on my prayer list for me and those I know and love. Take mini vacations – in the bathroom with the door locked. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

