The Things We Do For Love

Three days from now, my husband will hand over the keys to his office and walk away from a job that he worked hard to get.  He’s resigning as Director of Operations for Lancaster EMS in order to take care of his family. He’s doing it because he loves us.

What a wierd week it will be. Several months ago, we realized that someone needs to be physically present in our home nearly 24/7. Not for our children as much as for Andy’s parents. So, at the beginning of 2008, I severely cut back my hours at my business with the idea of being home.  Since that time, we have struggled with what direction to take. My being home has hurt us financially and I find myself working every single minute that my husband is home in the evenings and on weekends. That leaves little breathing room to hang out as a family.

At the end of June we came to the prayerful decision (at least I prayed quite a bit!) that it would be better for Andy to be home. Financially, we’ll do better if I work full time.  Emotionally, we’ll do better if I work full time. Domestically, we’ll do better if I work full time. Frankly…I should just stay away!! No…just kidding…but….

Andy is much more disciplined about the domestic chores. I’d rather play with the kids, surf the web and hang out by the pool than do laundry, clean, cook and grocery shop. I hate it. He likes it. In fact, in anticipation of next week at home, he already went out and bought more cleaning supplies!

Anyway, I would just like to say kudos to the man who would put up with me for nearly fifteen years and be willing to put aside his career to do the right thing by his parents and his children.  I know that for some people, this is a departure from what God intended when he created man as head of household, but for us it’s the right and sane thing to do.

Thanks, Babe!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. femmedumonde
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 16:16:06

    I wish the best of luck to you and your family. Embracing what works naturally can be so easy and so hard at the same time.

    Reply

  2. beinganddoing
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 17:56:27

    Cool! Can I come over and play with Andy?

    Seriously. I hope this will prove to be a great move for you guys.

    Peace,

    Leon

    Reply

  3. just an apprentice
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 21:12:59

    A moving act of generosity and caring! May the peace of Christ be with you as your family experiences this transition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

