Children Of the Dump

Today I got an email through Facebook from an old friend that I grew up with in Hong Kong. He’s someone that I have often thought of but I haven’t seen or spoken to in nearly twenty years. I knew he’d be involved in helping others; something we both learned by watching our parents work as missionaries in Hong Kong.

He turned me on to a project of his; personally and professionally. 

After watching the clip he sent, I am again reminded how easy my life is.  How do I sit around in my comfy chair, making money and eating fat food while beautiful people live in a place constructed out of the things others threw away?

This isn’t a new thought for me, nor is it foreign for me to help others.  But, it is so easy to get sucked in to the materialistic American dream and wish for the stars that will benefit me the most.  I showed the clip to Andy and he too was moved. I forgot to mention to him that watching this made me want to sell my huge house and move somewhere cheap so all my money, energy and resources could be put into making the lives of children in this world a little more tolerable.

Not far away from the homes of the children living in this dump are resorts, gourmet restaurants, beaches and relaxation. Do any of these children know that life?  How dare we sit around and whine that we don’t have enough?

I want to thank Derek Williams for sharing this with me. I hope he don’t mind that I share it with you.

Check out this clip:

www.operationquad.org

Leave a Reply

