Discharge

Well, Andy’s dad is coming home on Saturday from the rehab facility.  Now the fun begins.  He got around the apartment okay with his walker; only a few minor furniture placements need to be addressed. 

It wasn’t until yesterday that it really hit me how much this whole situation affects my children.  They are struggling to be normal kids in this world with all the activities and friends and stuff that goes with that.  They deserve to have fun and don’t worry about the grown ups in their life…only that’s not what’s happening.  I spent the long weekend at home with all three of them and still can’t get over how irritable they are.  Erin wants to sleep all the time and needs to be prodded to go to her friend’s house.  Colin won’t let go of my leg when I’m here and Liam wants out.  None of that is good and none of that is the way it used to be.  They have two working parents who also have the responsibility of taking care of their aging grandparents.

While I was supposed to be home yesterday with my kids I spent the morning (two hours of it) helping to balance the checkbook next door.  Unplanned, unannounced and without thought to how it would affect others.  It just happened that way and so when my kids looked at me and said “I thought you were going to be HERE today” I nearly cried.  They miss their mom and dad cause when we are here; we aren’t here.

Something’s gotta give. I just don’t know what.  And, it’s gotta give soon. 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 14:36:10

    I can only imagine the range of emotions you and your family are feeling. Nothing hurts a parent more than a hurt child; physically and emotionally. THAT I know.

    Is there a way for your children to participate in the care of their grandfather? It’s not the ideal way to spend time with them, but it may end up being a blessing to them and to him.

    Not sure what I can say that would help, but I will pray that God’s peace and comfort will cover you and your family.

    Hang in there.

    Reply

  2. Leon
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 16:19:55

    Wow! That sounds heavy. Be assured of our prayers.

    Peace,

    Reply

  3. beinganddoing
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 18:14:07

    So Audrey.

    How did today go?

    Peace,

    Leon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

