It’s A New Year

Two people told me tonight that I should post more. So…here goes. Unfortunately, much less than half of the people that read this blog actually comment. That’s because they know me and they’re afraid to offend.  Let me make this one thing very clear. I do not write to impress or fluff anything up. Offend away. I write to engage others in an idea, an argument or discussion or simply to entertain. Ocassionally I’ll swing at someone and I might say bad words. That’s who I am.  I’m pretty real most of the time.

 I gave up on the discussion of women in leadership. It’s too complicated, and frankly I don’t really care. That’s my final answer. I’m ready to take on anything God throws in my path and if leadership is in there somewhere, fine. I’m a woman. Deal with it.

It’s a new year and I have a few errands I have not attended to. They are all selfish; no one else is involved. (At least not immediately). I spent the month of December caring for my husband’s parents in a way I’d rather not have done…and so all the thoughts for the new year hinge simply on things I want to do for me. I’ve made a list. Others might appear in it, but it’s simply for my enjoyment, benefit, warm fuzzy feeling or financial gain.

  • Read one book a month pertaining to business and making money. That’s what I do for a living.
  • Read one novel a month pertaining to nothing but great reading.  (I do speed read, so both should be do-able.)
  • Spend Saturday nights eating Pizza at Parma’s with my husband and kids.
  • Pay all my bills either before or on the due date.
  • Walk for 30 minutes with my son on Saturday mornings. He actually wants me to sign a contract agreeing to this.
  • Try a cosmo or a martini.
  • Get a tatoo. (I’m considering a big X on my lower back where I had surgery.)
  • Teach my 3 year old to read since he’s already learning on his own.
  • Buy a cool car. (I am hoping for a white soft-top Mustang).
  • Make my daughter feel safe, secure, wanted, loved and beautiful. Forever.
  • Make love to my husband on a regular basis. Or at least…hold his hand.
  • Finish my novel.
  • Finish my other book.
  • Read the Bible cover to cover and not necessarily in order but rather in whatever order is more chronological.
  • Get published again. (2007 was the first year in the past 6 that I wasn’t paid to write something.)
  • Get another dog.
  • Find a really great, wonderful and permanent best friend who is a girl.
  • Have a birthday party for each of my kids involving friends, balloons and games.
  • Remember to send cards to people in our families.
  • Go on a week long anniversary (15 years) trip somewhere that my spouse surprises me with!
  • Earn more money than last year.
  • Give away more money than last year.
  • Get a pedicure and a massage. (Never done either!)

Outside of that list…I’ve really got no plans!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beinganddoing
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 07:05:11

    Now that is indeed an impressive, and fun, list! I was wondering why you didn’t include the imbibing of great coffee along with all those other worthy and fun goals?

    I have a few random questions/comments.
    I was not aware that you have been published so often. What is your novel about? Is the other book the one we talked about? How many words can you read in a minute? Can you type as fast as you read? I love the family related goals you have set for yourself. And finally it is good to see you post again!

    Peace,

    Leon

    Reply

  2. divinescribble
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 07:50:22

    Leon,

    I should have included coffee! Particularly Lonely Monk Coffee. I’ll add it mentally.

    To answer your questions:
    I have been published in magazines and newspapers on a variety of things. In 2005 I was actually paid a salary to write a newsletter for a construction company in Georgia. In 2006 I was a contributing writer to Lancaster County Woman each month on a pediatric health issue topic of my choosing. Other than that, random church papers, online zines and Chicken Soup.

    The novel is about a young woman and her family who find themselves caring for his parents. I probably can’t publish it until I’m dead for fear of alienating people in my life:)

    The other book is definitely the one we talked about.

    I don’t know how fast I read for sure. I read the whole Harry Potter series in November. The first three I finished in 3 days. All while carrying on a life.

    I type 80+ words a minute accurately.

    Shalom,
    Aud

    Reply

  3. David
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 09:45:42

    I, for one, enjoy reading your blog. It’s refreshingly candid. My blog, however, is in total limbo for the time being. I haven’t really been inspired and I don’t want to write about what I had for lunch today, re-post other blog’s posts, or lyrics to my new favorite song. Anyway, keep writing from the hip. It’s good.

    David.

    Reply

  4. Sharmila (Didi) Daniel
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 20:55:18

    Thanks to the Dalat Alumni website, I get to read your blog, Audrey. Hi — after many years.

    Anyway, I tried getting a tattoo on the lower back surgery scar and they wouldn’t do one where there was scarring or scar tissue.

    Nuts I say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

