Peace

Netflix is sending me Farenheit 9/11 today in the mail. I may be the last person alive who hasn’t seen it. Andy (my dear hubby) had one simple statement to make when he heard it was coming. “It’ll probably really piss me off.” And it probably will. My peaceful, Mennonite thinking, “war is wrong” attitude lives juxtaposed with his veteran status and patriotic pride as an American. He doesn’t agree with the state of our current war in Iraq nor does he see the killing of innocent people as acceptable. He does, however, agree that war is an option and that America must defend itself. On this point, we may never agree, and we have decided that it’s best not to broach the subject very often. It causes quite a bit of dissention in an otherwise amazingly peaceful marriage.

Andy doesn’t understand that I am not proud of being an American. Living overseas all my life and looking back at my country of birth through the eyes of another nation probably contributed greatly to my overall view of the great USA. I do feel lucky to have been born here and to carry the privileges that brings. But, patriotic I am not. To me it seems there is a lot of anger wrapped up in patriotism.

We as a nation have not conducted ourselves very maturely for a few years now and what’s there to be proud of? We have more than anyone yet can’t be satisfied. We are slaves to fear. We possess the land as though it is ours to rape and wonder where the farmland went. We often declare ourselves a Christian nation and politicize God as though we are the chosen people and the rest of the world can go to hell.

So, when Farenheit 9/11 hits my DVD player, I’ll try to keep my mouth shut. I want to respect my husband’s feelings; I don’t have to agree. I just wonder what it takes to convince someone that other people’s children hurt just as easily as mine.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PB and J
    Aug 01, 2007 @ 17:14:15

    i watched fahr 9/11 for the first time a few months ago. i hadnt watched it because i had heard so many people say that michael moore was biased, etc. but when i watched it, i felt entirely differently. not because i didnt think he was biased, but because bush said things that he said, period. you cant take what he said outa context either. when with his rich buddies, he talked totally differently than in public. when the camera wasnt supposed to be running, he said stuff much different as well.

    it made me realize that all that glitters isnt gold.

    peter

    Reply

  2. sloggy
    Aug 01, 2007 @ 21:38:59

    There is alot in our midst that is good and I think too often we concentrate on the garbage.
    One of the things that many of the men I know who were involved in the military say is that when you go somewhere else in that capacity you often come back here seeing how blessed this nation is. And I do agree that in many respects we are living on the blessings we are receiving because of the behaviour of our grandparents. I think we tend to be very selfish in this day and age and want to have our lives be as easy and as fun as we can make them. Whereas our grandparents were more self sacrificial.
    I think we will get our chance to be that way if we look for it.
    I can imagine the conflict between you and your hubby as I attend a formerly Mennonite congregation which has differing opinions on the topic of military service and my daughter is in the National Guard as is her Iraq veteran husband and her father in law is currently in Iraq. Also we have vets on both sides of our families several generations back.

    Reply

  3. rogueminister
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 04:56:07

    I feel you about a lot of this. Patriotism, at least in most forms is idolatry. We must be citizens of the Kingdom of God. Try not to become to cynical though. Jesus should fill us all with joy and shalom. Be blessed!

    Reply

  4. dawn
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 12:22:41

    What I appreciated about Farenheit 9/11 is that Moore speaks with a different voice than the majority. When we returned from overseas, we were immediately told to stifle any voice that may question US foreign policy, US involvement in the war, and any decisions made by the current administration. We were basically told that it would be seen as anti-American, not supporting the men and women who were sacrificing for our freedoms and seen as not Christian (since God blesses America, I guess). I resented those implications while we tried to be careful about what we said. Afterall, isn’t the hallmark of America the fact that we are a democracy and have freedoms to express our convictions and options???

    I appreciated the fact that Moore presented “the other view” or another view in a way that documented voices of Americans who love their country, but cannot condone American actions around the world. I agree with you, I feel lucky to have been born here, but I have been disillusioned over the last decade as I see how our actions of power or perhaps our apathy to the influence of our power internationally has made us a bully in the world rather than a presence of care and hope we claim we are.

    It is true, we are first citizens of God’s Kingdom. But this is even more a reason to be honest and aware of the baggage we carry as citizens of an earthly “empire.” For if we want to truly be a counter-cultural or redeeming presence in the world, we need to admit and repent of any “empire” mentality that can interfere with our ability to share the love of Christ with others who have been hurt by our nation’s domestic and foreign policies.

    Reply

  5. just an apprentice
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 22:05:53

    Dawn,
    Would you be open to preaching sometime?

    🙂

    Reply

  6. Anonymous
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 02:55:29

    Yes, I am laughing too! Very funny. Do I really sound like I’m preaching? Don’t mean to . . . maybe I am preaching to the choir – sorry.

    Reply

  7. dawn
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 02:57:33

    sorry – that was me – by the way – interesting quiz you guys did. Don’t know that I got all the answers though. Audrey – still waiting for your take on 9/11

    Reply

Leave a Reply

