Take Me Out to the Ball Game!

At 3:00 a.m. yesterday, my middle child turned 8 years old. Although she didn’t feel it happen, a new year officially began in her life. When I saw her at the top of the stairs in the morning, she groggily said that she felt bigger…I told her she looked bigger.

I am amazed again at these little people in my life who aren’t so little most of the time anymore. Sometime ago they began to develop into creatures with opinions and personalities. Often these opinions are in direct opposition to mine and we have to learn to play fair together. That ain’t always easy on Mommy.

Spring also heralds the ball season at our house. Liam eats, sleeps and breathes baseball. He’s going to the college of his choice on a baseball scholarship. His best friend is going to have a football scholarship. Their proud parents are counting on that! But, first we must get through another season of Little League in the Conestoga Valley School District where only the best play! First night of practice is over; game season starts soon. I can’t wait! I love watching baseball games outside in the summertime. Cheering, screaming, hiding my eyes and silently cursing on occasion are all part of the deal. I have to learn to play fair with the other mommies, which ain’t always easy either. But, by the time we hit the majors, I’ll have all those kinks worked out.

We’d welcome any friends, family or fans to join us some Saturday for a great game of baseball! I’ll be posting updates on stats as we go along, so you’ll just have to bear with me. We’re playing for the Pirates again this year at the Minors level. Liam is pitching and catching and loving every minute of it!

Swing batter, batter!!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grits n' Grace
    Apr 04, 2007 @ 21:57:02

    It’s not always easy on a daddy either! 😉 This year my son graduates college, my daughter from high school and we just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Hang on to every precious moment because they pass so incredibly fast.
    Oh, I enjoyed “Do Women Have Nose Hair?” I mean, who could pass on a title like that!?

    Blessings,
    David.

    Reply

  2. divinescribble
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 14:14:36

    David,
    Thanks for the advice…I am so painfully aware of how little time I have with my children.

    Thank you, too, for the comment on my nose hair posting! It was fun to write.

    Audrey

    Reply

  3. Celeste
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 18:59:38

    I’m not a mother…yet… 😉

    But I do have little sisters, and just today I was thinking about how they are growing up and chaning and become “bigger people”…we still call them the “little girls” but they are much older than I was when I thought I was really grown up! 🙂

    Amazing how the years pass!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

